About us

Already back in 1997-1998, the Ministry of Transport and Communications of Lithuania began to raise the issue on the establishment of the association.On January 7, 1999 the meeting of the steering group establishing the Shipowners’ Association took place.It was attended by the president of AB Klaipėdos Transporto Laivynas A. Bič, the president of AB Lietuvos Jūrų Laivininkystė A. Gedgaudas, the general manager of UAB Limarko V. Lygnugaris, and the director of UAB Passat S. Žekanis. The deputy Klaipėda port captain R. Lučka attended the meeting as a guest.

On February 2, 1999, the agreement on incorporation was signed and on February 19 the Shipowners’ Association (LSA) was registered.Its founders were Lietuvos Jūrų Laivininkystė (LJL), Klaipėdos Transporto Laivynas (KTL), UAB Passat and UAB Limarko. Antanas Anilionis was appointed as the first president of the Association and the head of the administration.The organization employed 3 people.

At that time, the Shipowners Association aimed at becoming a member of the Baltic Shipowners’ Association (BLSA) in St. Petersburg and a member of the Lithuanian Confederation of Industrialists.

UAB Baltlanta became the first member of the LSA Association on March 8, 1999.

In April 1999, the LSA was approved as the associated number of the Lithuanian Confederation of Industrialists (LPK).

–   On June 1, 1999 in the Ministry of Transport and Communications organised the meeting/conference with the Shipowners’ Association “How to save the Lithuanian fleet”.

In August, the president of the Association A. Anilionis participated in the meeting of the Baltic Ship Owners Association (BLSA) in St. Petersburg and discussed the issues related to the work of trade unions of the fleets.The opinion regarding the policies of the International Transport Federation (ITF) and the European Transport Federation (ETF) was expressed.

Members of the Association actively discussed the Maritime Law, and the Lithuanian national shipping concept.

On December 29, 1999, the Shipowners Association was renamed to the Lithuanian Shipowners’ Association (LLSA).